Rotoscoping at GDFS, Studio Moross workshop

At the Graphic Design Festival Scotland, I took part in the Studio Moross workshop and tried my hand at Rotoscope animation.

I love animating and working on moving image projects as it is so very therapeutic. Rotoscoping in Photoshop is calming, fun and interesting for me. I’ve been hooked since the workshop.

We had such a great time working on 3 second animations that we filmed in the room and used as a format to create our own style. My partner had lovely hair which I loved animating.

In the space of 2 or 3 hours we came up with our own individual animation.

The next day at the workshop we worked on creating a music video that we would each individually animate. We used “Hotline Bling” by Drake, which had been cut into 20 or so separate pieces to animate.

We had such a great time animating our sections and collaborating with the people next to us. The full video unfortunately couldn’t be uploaded but I’ve managed to put my section online.

I used Drakes jumper to create an animate wool style when he dances. I had so much fun creating this animation. The workshop was fantastic, Studio Moross gave us so much insight into the process that they use to create their work and were very lovely people.

I’ve been hooked on Rotoscope ever since and I’m looking forward to creating some more mini animations.

I even did a short one of my favourite film scenes.

Looking forward to using this technique in the future to make some fun work.

Leave a comment